Monday, October 12, 2009

ABVP makes a clean sweep

The two-month long election drama on campus ended last Saturday with the ABVP making a clean sweep winning all four posts for which polling happened: President, Vice-President, Cultural Secretary and Sports Secretary.

2503 votes were polled in the re-election, which happened on October 9, 2009. The post of President went to
ABVP candidate Chaitanya Prasad who got 1015 votes followed by SFI candidate Sipoy Sarveshwar who garnered 805 votes and the NSUI-ASA candidate Krishna Murthy who got 656 votes.

Trends were similar for other posts. Shashank B Baruah
became the Vice-President with a total of 990 votes. ABVP candidates Priya R and Sardar Gaganjot Singh won the posts of Cultural Secretary and Sports Secretary with 1049 and 923 votes respectively. The rest of the panel had been decided unanimously.

Counting began at 10 am promptly and continued till evening. Spread over 25 rounds, trends beginning to emerge by around afternoon, though all sides were equally hopeful with cheers emerging from all quarters. However, by early evening, the mandate in favour of the ABVP was clear. Students from the
ABVP were visibly jubilant at their win and celebrated by cheering and applying tilak after which, a victory procession complete with drumbeats and crackers was led through the campus.

No comments:

Post a Comment